Karma

kar·ma      [kahr-muh] Pronunciation KeyShow IPA Pronunciation

–noun

1. Hinduism, Buddhism. action, seen as bringing upon oneself inevitable results, good or bad, either in this life or in a reincarnation: in Hinduism one of the means of reaching Brahman. Compare bhakti (def. 1), jnana.
2. Theosophy. the cosmic principle according to which each person is rewarded or punished in one incarnation according to that person’s deeds in the previous incarnation.
3. fate; destiny.
4. the good or bad emanations felt to be generated by someone or something.

 

Karma. This word is being tossed around a lot as of recent. And today I decided to look it up. I was reading a friend’s profile who describes herself as Catholic and believing in “karma”. Now, I’m guessing that the meaning of the word that people are referring to is the “what goes around comes around” BUT none of these definitions (provided by Dictionary.com) really fit this bill.

The closest is definition numero 2 which describes the going around coming around situation happening to people in spanning through different lives, literally.

So do me a favor everyone. Please, just say: I believe what goes around comes around, or I believe people will get what is coming to them. NOT: I believe in karma. Because you are not using the word correctly.

The reason using the word karma urks me is because it makes me think of new age religions when people combine different religions’ beliefs or when people believe that many religions lead to the same God. No religion is okay with picking and choosing beliefs from everyone. It doesn’t make any sense.

Jesus never said, I am the Way the Truth and the Light and yeah, Buddha had some good ideas too.

Don’t mix liquor and beer and don’t mix religions. It’s that simple.

4 responses to “Karma

  1. I think the context in which most people use it is saying “what you do has consquence, even if they aren’t immediate.” however the Hindu concept of karma refers to the universe essentially equaling out.

    And as far as mixing religions is concerned – I believe in Acts Paul quoted some pagan philosophers when debating, because he recognized godliness wherever he found it, which is something I believe Christians need to do more of – people who aren’t Christians have truth and valid thoughts/values too.

    and you can drink liquor then beer, but not vise verse: “beer before liquor never been sicker”

  2. LOL… I have thoughts on this but can’t really formulate them to a comprehendable response SO I’ll just comment and say I’ll share my thoughts with you as soon as I can gather them

  3. point taken. But I still loathe when people say the word.

  4. yea, seriously I hate when ppl. tell me how they believe in Karma- I am like ummm do your frickin’ homework, because you aren’t using the word correctly, in fact you prob. don’t even really know what it means in context- one time this lady asked me if I agreed in her “karma belief” all I could think was well ummm I do believe God is just, but I just grinned and tried to wish the moment away- haha

Leave a Reply

