Old people

I used to be deathly afraid of growing old. Old people looked so boring, and uncool. They couldn’t work DVD players, forget computers and for some reason they were just so freaking weird. Ever notice the older people get the weirder they get? Like, they just stopped caring that they smelled funny or really liked cats or liked talking to you about their hobby that you don’t care about and just decided to go all out.

I personally think when high school and college ends, people don’t feel quite the need to conform to their peers because they aren’t around them all the time. So they do whatever they want and live as they’d like. So they get really weird. No more standards to conform to.

So, I’m graduated from college now; it’s my time to enter into this post-school world. When I start getting weird, just let me know, point it out to me so I can know and change. But don’t say anything about the way I style my hair or the way I wear my clothes or my work ethic…oh or the fact that I’m always right, because I’ll probably just ignore you.

3 responses to “Old people

  1. Well Angela what can we say to you???? LOL
    What made you change from being deathly afraid of growing old?
    Guess what… you’re not always right… (you have to ignore that ;-)) LOL

  2. wideawakeinwonderland

    I’m (a lot? doesn’t feel like THAT much, but…) older than 22, and don’t lament. 22 is YOUNG!!!!! Oh, to be 22 again (I more or less zombied through it, near as I can recall) Meanwhile, I can tell you my dad has joined the ranks you describe. In his case, he’s realized he’s old enough (early 60’s) that he can do ABSOLUTELY ANYTHING HE WANTS, and no one will challenge him on it. Worst case, they’ll assume he has dementia. We were in a grocery store a few months ago, and they had a sample tub of some kind of body butter. He started to muse what would happen if he took off his shoes and slathered his feet with it… He decided nothing would happen, and in a strange way, I admire that kind of liberation. 😉
    http://wideawakeinwonderland.wordpress.com

  3. wow ang, wow.

    “But don’t say anything about the way I style my hair or the way I wear my clothes or my work ethic…oh or the fact that I’m always right, because I’ll probably just ignore you.”

    you’re amazing. period.

Leave a Reply

