still a fan…for now

I’ve made a big decision today. My life is going in a different direction. I’m letting go.

From birth, I’ve been a Philadelphia fan, primarily an Eagles fan. I enjoy the Sixers, the Phillies and the Flyers, but I love watching football more than the rest. In my communication theory class we learned about one particular theory with a fancy name that basically said people are willing to make sacrifices for relationships but in direct relation to how much it matters to a person. Meaning – I love the Eagles and in the past I would say if I met a guy (aka “the guy”) who was a football fan of a different persuasion, that would probably be a deal breaker. Today I’ve decided that I am going to exercise my free will and allow myself, if the opportunity arises, to allow the Eagles to matter less.

What does this mean? It means if I meet a guy tomorrow that is a fan of a different squad (save Cowboy & Giant fans) I will embrace the new team and call it my own. I know this seems like I’m being a coward or less of a real fan. Call it whatever you want – I’m sick of this.

I’m sick of Andy Reid’s fourth grade play calling. I’m sick of McNabb’s nerves that cost us countless games. I’m sick of our lack of wide receivers and our lack of championship wins.

I’m sick of being made fun of for being a Philly fan. I’m sick of people mocking me for complaining about my team because as a Philly fan we are just not allowed to do that. I’m sick of people hating Philly teams when we never even win anything.

I don’t have to take this. Tons of people grow up in PA and are not Eagles fans because it’s easier. Guess what? I think it’s a good idea. Why am I putting myself through this? What’s the point? When it comes down to it, I enjoy watching football, but find myself completely pissed off every time the game is over because the Eagles pulled another moronic move that cost them the game. It’s just not worth it.

Until then I am an Eagles fan. I am sticking it out until that moment. Until I meet that guy – and if he’s a Brown’s fan, a Titan’s fan, a you-name-it fan, it’s no longer a deal breaker. In fact, it’s a bonus.

eaglessuck1

3 responses to “still a fan…for now

  1. Let’s not get crazy here, my friend. I think that this is a bit of an over reaction to Andy Reid’s knuckleheaded playcalling (followed up by his cluelessness in the press conference).

    And stop blaming number five… he’s not (and never has been) the problem.

  2. I’m shocked more or less… but very proud none the same…
    However… your reasons are a cop out… it because you’re tired of being a Philly fan? Not cuz you think you should value the relationship more than a football team LOL
    Hey I’m not complainin cuz one I don’t want to date you (obviously) LOL and two I’ve been trying to get you to open your horizons just a lil anyway just pointin it out

  3. lol..i didn’t know u had a blog angela, EAGLES SUCK!!! lol…just messing with ya

Leave a Reply

