Proof I’m getting old

Besides graduating from college, I’ve noticed some things about myself recently that have me showing my age. Some are most disturbing than others. May I note, that if you find some of these qualities are those which you are taking on yourself, that’s okay, I’m finding it’s not quite as bad as I once thought it might be.

1. I drink coffee with cream & sugar. While I enjoy a latte and a frappuccino, today I went to Dunkin’ Donut’s for a meeting and ordered a coffee, just a coffee. I would have felt like I was 12 getting the usual (fattening) caramel mocha frappuccino, so I decided to order a mature drink. And surprisingly, I liked it.

2. Weight isn’t so easy to maintain. Now that I’m not in college, hopping in every pick up game of volleyball or basketball, its much more difficult to stay active. So I realize that I can’t eat everything I like and I need to watch the food I eat because I might actually game some weight. This is a disaster. (It also doesn’t help that I work at a dessert company).

3. Bed time rules have changed. My entire life I’ve had problems going to bed before midnight. In fact, it was dang near impossible. Now, by 11pm, I’m exhausted and ready to go to sleep. Very serious change. It’s quite shocking actually.

4. I understand why people enjoy doing nothing. This was a question that plagued me for quite some time. Why/How do older people just sit around and do nothing? Are they depressed? Life must be awful for them! I’ve found its quite the contrary. Sometimes, not all the time, I too enjoy coming home from work and doing nothing simply because I’m tired and I want relax. For someone who is always on the go, this is a new, strange concept for me.

Other factors to add to the list about me or about you?

4 responses to “Proof I’m getting old

  1. Lol you’re not old… and I’ve been getting a regular coffee for years LOL… We should do something childish so you won’t feel old… hmmmm what would that be? I actually find myself feeling like a child all the time… LOL but I also am not out of school yet…

  2. Just marry a man that is at least 10 years older than you and you’ll always be the token youth 🙂 Sucks about the food part, though…Over the last couple years, I have also been feeling old and I don’t like it. We can commiserate together!

  3. I totally know what you’re talking about here. Especially bed time… midnight was my normal bedtime in college, if not later, and now I’m yawning at 10:30. I like it, though; I think I was chronically fatigued throughout college and now I actually feel like a rested person.

    #4 doesn’t really apply to me, though, since I’ve always been kind of a homebody and a great champion of rest…it’s something that’s quite important to me, actually, especially the more hectic our society gets. I kind of get on a soapbox about it. 🙂 I want to be a restful person, the kind of person who helps other people find rest. So yeah. But getting older makes you realize that a lot of times, you just want to hang out with people who are close to you and running around doesn’t seem as appealing.

  4. Unfortunately some of this is just a by-product of working a regular job; when I used to work at the hospital everyday from 8-5, once I got home I didn’t want to do anything in the evenings, and I’d be falling asleep by midnight easily… I felt so lame, but I eventually had to accept that these are the realities of being a “real” person. The experience of the typical college student is such an anomaly… once you get out you realize that NO ONE else is the world lives that way, and you just have to adjust. Don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll find other ways to keep life exciting. 😉

    Something else to think on: Right around the early to mid-20s is when your musical tastes become pretty set. As we grow older we will get further and further away from being up on what’s new, because we already know what we like and that’s that. Already the “lite” radio stations are playing more of “our” music — we’re almost officially out of the Top 40 demographic. Scary but true.

Leave a Reply

