Step 1: Put a live tree in your house

I often find it peculiar to think that our holiday season is spent making lists, shopping, wrapping gifts, and putting a live tree in our house. Especially the live tree thing. (Does anyone else think that’s totally bizaare?)

I’m not trying to be a hater. In fact, I fully admit that I am thankful to have a family that is well off enough to give me amazing gifts year after year. It was such a blessing to me to receive a djembe (from my sister and dad) and The Office Complete DVD set (from my mom) among other gifts.

I also really enjoy giving gifts. I am always tempting to cheap out and get everyone smaller gifts that they won’t like as much as what I could really get them.
gifts

At the same time, I hate getting gifts that are really useless, that are just clutter, that I don’t want/need. It’s sad but it’s only when I receive those gifts that I think about how that money could have been spent to buy someone a pair of shoes, or a well, or some needed clothing.

I need to change my attitude about gifts and giving. I love this video I’ve posted below. I want to do this. I want everyone to do this. I do think we should give gifts to one another. Jesus was a generous dude and I think that it’s okay that we give eachother gifts to bless eachother. I also think we need to reconsider how much we spend on who, and realize the length of own attachment to material things.

If you have a few minutes, I’d encourage you to watch this video. I don’t post videos very often because I never really watch anyone else’s (generally speaking), but I hope to post this next year at an earlier date, so anyone who is interested can join me, and join the cause.

Have a Merry Christmas and first and foremost Happy Birthday Jesus, the King of Generosity and Giving.

2 responses to “Step 1: Put a live tree in your house

  1. Ok so #1… I hate live christmas trees because they’re so much work to keep up and we end up throwing them away anyway… and decorating them was always a pain… AND the fact that we’re spending money on something we’ll only have for a month or so then get rid of… like seriously throwing money out the window ever year along with everything else that goes under the tree… If you don’t buy it you’re chopping down a tree that you’re definitely not going to replace… One year I refused to decorate the tree because I listed my reasons of being against it… and since then we’ve gotten a really nice fake tree that we’ve had and reuse ever year… πŸ™‚

    So much for my late christmas gift to you but glad to know you already have it though so I wouldn’t have wasted my money πŸ™‚

    Great video promo… not what I was gonna write about in my blog about it but great πŸ™‚

  2. I can’t do the live tree thing unless I want a sinus infection from my allergies. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

